Manitou Springs, Colorado
began building this residence in 1894Jean Baptiste Francolon, a French Roman Catholic PriestIn 1899 the Francolons left the area abruptlyand donated the castle to the Sisters of MercyApparently vacant & rundown, it was purchased& made over into apartments in 1946July 1976, the Manitou Historical Societypurchased the derelict property & restored itwith the help of many volunteersMaster builders Archie & Angus Gillisand used Manitou greenstone, found & quarried only from 1890 - 1940It was placed on the National Register of Historical places in 1977It is now a museumafter a pilgrimage to RomeThe Sisters ran a sanitarium there from 1904 to 1928